top of page

Big Prayers, Big Answers

Every day since the beginning of this school year, I have been praying for the salvation of my students. I was challenged to pray big – not only to pray for opportunities to let my light shine, but to see at least one of my students come to a saving knowledge of Christ. I know that there are some other people who are specifically praying for the salvation of my students as well. Throughout my time in Eagle Butte, I have had some opportunities to have spiritual conversations with my students, and I have also had the opportunity to share the gospel with one or two.

As my time in Eagle Butte has winded down, I have begun to wonder if this would happen. And then God began to work. As I mentioned in my last prayer update, one of the students whom I am close to moved back to Eagle Butte. As I was praying about ways to be more intentional with her about spiritual things, God brought to my mind the idea that I should start a Bible study with the kids at the center where she is staying right now. A group of kids from there (including one of my current students) have been attending church for the past month. This idea made me SO exited!

So, I started pursuing the possibility of having a Bible study with these jr. high and high school kids. The place where they stay is a very structured foster home type of situation for abused and neglected children. There are quite a few restrictions on what can happen there and where the kids can go. When I called the center to see if I am able to come in once a week, the leader said, “I don’t want to say ‘absolutely,’ because I have to check on a few things first. Let me get back to you.” They seemed very excited about the idea of having me come in, but they have to get some details worked out before I can for sure come in.

It is so awesome to see that God might be answering my prayers to see my student saved! I am STOKED about the idea of sharing with these students about how to read the Bible, what salvation means exactly, how to pray, and so many other things about Scripture. Even though I am only going to be able to invest in their lives for about 10 weeks, I know God can use even such a short time to instill a hunger in young lives for Him and His Word.

Please pray with me as God continues to work. Pray that all the details would work out for me to be able to go in weekly and do this study. Pray that God will open their eyes to Truth, and that they will come to a saving knowledge of Christ. Pray that I will have wisdom as I prepare and teach this study. Most of all, pray that God would be glorified and that He would use this to bring change to the center as well as to Eagle Butte!


Amanda Benson - Teaching Missionary Kids at Faith Academy in Manila, Philippines with SEND International.

bottom of page