top of page

There's No Place Like Nebraska...

...no matter how far away you are.

And in Nebraska, it's Husker Football season.

And that means a sea of red, the game playing everywhere in town, the city shutting down (or more like the state) for a few hours during the game, lots of excited or frustrated Facebook posts, and love. Love for the game and for the people. Nebraska is a great place.

Most Husker football games air while I'm sleeping on Saturday night or while I'm in church on Sunday mornings. So, I spend Sunday afternoons during Husker season watching the game (or trying to, depending on how my internet is that day) in one of my Husker t-shirts. Last year, I would go to school on Monday and share my enthusiasm for how the game went (or my frustration for how it didn't go, which was often the case last year). No one understood, so I could only share my enthusiasm with those back home that I texted. It just isn't the same.

And then, as this school year started, one of my new student's parents added me as a friend on Facebook. I happened to notice she was from Lincoln, NE, and I couldn't believe it! I asked if they were Husker fans, and they answered the true Nebraska response: "How can you be from Lincoln and NOT be a Husker fan?!" I was so excited! People on this side of the world who share my love for Husker football!

So today, after church, we ordered pizza and watched the opening season of the Husker football game. I also shared with them my mid-game tradition of having popcorn with peanut butter M&Ms. It was wonderful (not only the game, winning 43-10, but the fact that we got to fellowship and talk about Nebraska and home and our stories and how God led us here to Manila). There is just something about having a little piece of home here in Manila. Of course, as we talked, we wished we could BE at the game, but with that not being possible, this was as close as we could get.

I'm looking forward to watching more games with them this season.

And, I'm thanking God for the little blessings, the ways He does things that He doesn't have to do just to encourage us and show us that He loves us. God is so good.


Amanda Benson - Teaching Missionary Kids at Faith Academy in Manila, Philippines with SEND International.

bottom of page